My Journey to the Open Source Community

My Journey to the Open Source Community

ยท

2 min read

I made my first-ever contribution to the open-source world !! Thanks to the Open Source Community Africa (OSCA) challenge, I have been able to end procrastinating on contributing to open source.

GETTING STARTED ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ

Getting started was not as difficult as I thought, as I am quite familiar with Git. It became tougher when I was looking for a project to contribute to; since I was more conversant with python, I decided to stick with projects in python, which helped narrow down the search. You can get projects ideas from a lot of sites, but I got mine from Good first issue

After going through several python projects and issues raised, I settled for OpenCiViWiki. I sent a message to one of the contributors to make sure the issue was still open, then I forked the repository, fixed the issue, and made a pull request, and ta-da the reviewer merged my pull request.

I contributed also to other open-source projects and I am searching for more projects.

Thank you, OSCA, as this was an amazing experience for me, and I recommend other new developers to give it a try.

I would suggest looking into contributing to an open-source project no matter the level of experience you have as a programmer. It may seem scary at first, but it will definitely help improve your coding skills.